Tropical Storm Khanun aims Korea peninsula

Tropical Storm Khanun aims Korea peninsula

According to Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC), Khanun's maximum sustained winds had increased to 50 knots (93 km/h) with gusts up to 65 knots (120 km/h). Center of the storm is located about 280 nm south of Cheju-Do and it is moving north-northwestward at speed of 15 knots (28 km/h). Khanun is predicted to slightly increase in power today. It is expected to affect both South and North Korea as it moves northward through the western side of the Yellow Sea over the next couple days.



The Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) is keeping an eye on the rainfall being generated by Tropical Storm Khanun as it moves past Kadena Air Base, Okinawa, Japan. The 3-D view showed that powerful convective storms near Khanun's center were pushing to heights of about 17 kilometers (~10.6 miles).



Tropical storm Khanun is forecast to strike South Korea at about on 18 July. Data supplied by JTWC suggest that the point of landfall will be near32.6 N,126.2 E. Khanun is expected to bring maximum sustained winds to the region of around 92 km/h (57 mph). Wind gusts in the area  may be considerable higher.

Khanun

The TRMM satellite had an excellent daytime look at Tropical Storm Khanun near Okinawa in the northwestern Pacific Ocean on July 17, 2012 at 0439 UTC (12:39 a.m. EDT/1:39 p.m. Japan). Khanun had estimated wind speeds of over 40 knots (74 km/h) at the time TRMM passed overhead. The storm was compact but well-organized and shows possible eye wall formation. The bulk of the strongest precipitation was occurring in the western semi-circle of the storm.

Tags: khanun

Comments

No comments yet. Why don't you post the first comment?

Post a comment

Your name: *

Your email address: *

Comment text: *

The image that appears on your comment is your Gravatar