· ·

New York City sees heaviest April snow since 1982

new-york-city-sees-heaviest-april-snow-since-1982

14 cm (5.5 inches) of snow had accumulated in Central Park, New York by 10:00 EDT on April 2, 2018 (14:00 UTC). It was the most amount of snow in April since 1982, when 24.38 cm (9.6 inches) fell on the 6th of the month. The amount was also 7th most on record in April.

The snow started falling between 07:00 – 08:00 UTC (03:00 – 04:00 EDT). Temperatures stayed above freezing the entire duration of the snowfall, around 0.5 °C (33 °F) to 4.4 °C (40 °F). It snowed faster than the snow could melt, and colder surfaces such as grass and car tops allowed the snow to stay.

Sa far, New York City has received 103.89 cm (40.9 inches) of snow during the 2017-2018 cold season, almost 38.1 cm (15 inches) more than normal.

YouTube video

Central Park reported heavy snow and visibility of 400 m (0.25 miles) or less between 10:00 – 12:00 UTC (06:00 – 08:00 EDT) and a temperature of 0.5 °C (33 °F).

At LaGuardia Airport, the snow was falling at the rate of 50.8 mm (2 inches) per hour just before 11:00 UTC (07:00 EDT).

Snow amounts through 14:00 UTC (10:00 EDT):

Newark: 12.7 cm (5.0 inches)
LaGuardia Airport: 14 cm (5.5 inches)
JFK Airport: 9.4 cm (3.7 inches)
Islip Airport: 11.2 cm (4.4 inches)
White Plains, N.Y.: 19.8 cm (7.8 inches)
Bridgeport Airport, Conn.: 14.5 cm (5.7 inches)

YouTube video

The snow was the result of an area of low pressure that scooted along an Arctic front positioned south of the region. It also brought heavy snowfall to western Maryland and parts of Pennsylvania.

Up to 17.8 cm (7 inches) fell near Frostburg, Md., and the 11.4 (4.5 inches) in State College, Pa., tied for the heaviest snowfall of the winter, Washington Post reported.

Featured image: New York Snow on April 2, 2018.

If you value what we do here, create your ad-free account and support our journalism.

Share:

Commenting rules and guidelines

We value the thoughts and opinions of our readers and welcome healthy discussions on our website. In order to maintain a respectful and positive community, we ask that all commenters follow these rules:

  • Treat others with kindness and respect.
  • Stay on topic and contribute to the conversation in a meaningful way.
  • Do not use abusive or hateful language.
  • Do not spam or promote unrelated products or services.
  • Do not post any personal information or content that is illegal, obscene, or otherwise inappropriate.

We reserve the right to remove any comments that violate these rules. By commenting on our website, you agree to abide by these guidelines. Thank you for helping to create a positive and welcoming environment for all.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *