· ·

Partial solar eclipse on October 23, 2014

partial-solar-eclipse-on-october-23-2014

The final eclipse event of 2014 occurs at the Moon's ascending node in southern Virgo on Thursday, October 23, 2014. This will be a partial solar eclipse almost exclusively visible from Canada and the USA. Except for the far northeast, a sunset eclipse will be visible from the eastern half of the USA and Canada.

According to NASA's Fred Espenak, the penumbral shadow will first touch Earth's surface near the Kamchatka Peninsula in eastern Siberia at 19:37 UTC.

As the shadow travels east, much of North America will be treated to a partial eclipse. 

Greatest eclipse occurs at 21:44 UTC in Canada's Nunavut Territory near Prince of Wales Island where the eclipse in the horizon will have a magnitude of 0.811.

At that time, the axis of the Moon's shadow will pass about 675 km above Earth's surface. 

The partial eclipse ends when the penumbra leaves Earth at 23:51 UTC.

Image credit F. Espenak, NASA/GSFC

  • Local circumstances and eclipse times for a number of cities in Canada and Mexico are listed in NASA's Table 4, and for the USA in their Table 5. All times are in Local Daylight Time. The Sun's altitude and azimuth, the eclipse magnitude and eclipse obscuration are all given at the instant of maximum eclipse. When the eclipse is in progress at sunset, this information is indicated by '- s'.
  • The NASA JavaScript Solar Eclipse Explorer is an interactive web page that can quickly calculate the local circumstances of the eclipse from any geographic location not included in Tables 4 and 5: Javascript Solar Eclipse Explorer: eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/JSEX/JSEX-index.html

SLOOH will host a live and free broadcast covering the event. Their show starts at 21:00 UTC (14:00 PDT, 17:00 EDT, 23:00 CEST, 02:30 IST/October 24, 08:00 EDT(Australia)/October 24).

This is the last eclipse event for the year 2014. In 2015, there are two solar and two lunar eclipses:

  1. March 20, 2015: Total Solar Eclipse
  2. April 04, 2015: Total Lunar Eclipse
  3. September 13, 2015: Partial Solar Eclipse
  4. September 28, 2015: Total Lunar Eclipse

Images

Taken by Robert Lenz on October 23, 2014 @ Port Weller Ontario Canada (Via SpaceWeather)

Taken by Keith Breazeal on October 23, 2014 @ Volcano, California (via SpaceWeather)

Taken by Jeremy Perez on October 23, 2014 @ Flagstaff, Arizona, USA (via SpaceWeather)

Eclipse data: Eclipse.gsfc.NASA.gov (F. Espenak)

If you value what we do here, create your ad-free account and support our journalism.

Share:

Related articles

Producing content you read on this website takes a lot of time, effort, and hard work. If you value what we do here, select the level of your support and register your account.

Your support makes this project fully self-sustainable and keeps us independent and focused on the content we love to create and share.

All our supporters can browse the website without ads, allowing much faster speeds and a clean interface. Your comments will be instantly approved and you’ll have a direct line of communication with us from within your account dashboard. You can suggest new features and apps and you’ll be able to use them before they go live.

You can choose the level of your support.

Stay kind, vigilant and ready!

$5 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$50 /year

$10 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$100 /year

$25 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$200 /year

You can also support us by sending us a one-off payment using PayPal:

2 Comments

Leave a reply