Waterspout outbreak at Lake Michigan, expected to spread to other portions of Great Lakes

waterspout-outbreak-lake-michigan-great-lakes-september-2021

A waterspout outbreak is in progress at Lake Michigan since September 22, 2021, and the ICWR forecast model shows it continuing and spreading to other portions of the Great Lakes through Friday, September 24.

International Centre for Waterspout Research (ICWR) observer Nina Brady saw about a dozen waterspouts/funnels from the northern suburbs of Chicago on the morning of September 22, from 10:15 to 10:30 and 11:45 – 12:00 CDT.

"As of 15:00 CDT [20:00 UTC], we have confirmed at least 13 waterspouts/funnels off of the Chicago area," ICWR said. "Expect more waterspouts to reform by Thursday morning over the same area."

The number of confirmed waterspouts/funnels rose to 18 by 22:00 UTC.

The latest Great Lakes waterspout forecast model run shows the waterspout outbreak continuing and spreading over to other portions of the Great Lakes through to Friday, September 24.

The forecast is valid from 00:00 UTC (20:00 EDT) September 22 to 18:00 UTC (14:00 EDT) on September 24. The warmer the colors the higher the waterspout potential.

ICWR is a non-governmental organization comprised of meteorologists, researchers, storm chasers, and others from around the world who are interested in the field of waterspouts.

Their goal is to foster the advancement of waterspout research and development.

Featured image credit: ICWR

If you value what we do here, create your ad-free account and support our journalism.

Share:

Related articles

Producing content you read on this website takes a lot of time, effort, and hard work. If you value what we do here, select the level of your support and register your account.

Your support makes this project fully self-sustainable and keeps us independent and focused on the content we love to create and share.

All our supporters can browse the website without ads, allowing much faster speeds and a clean interface. Your comments will be instantly approved and you’ll have a direct line of communication with us from within your account dashboard. You can suggest new features and apps and you’ll be able to use them before they go live.

You can choose the level of your support.

Stay kind, vigilant and ready!

$5 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$50 /year

$10 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$100 /year

$25 /month

  • Ad-free account
  • Instant comments
  • Direct communication
  • New features and apps suggestions
  • Early access to new apps and features

$200 /year

You can also support us by sending us a one-off payment using PayPal:

Leave a reply