Large fireball recorded over Krugersdorp, South Africa

Large fireball recorded over Krugersdorp, South Africa

A large fireball was observed and recorded over the South African city of Krugersdorp at 16:59 UTC (18:59 SAST) on August 22, 2017.

The object had a bright blue-green color and lasted for more than 4 seconds. It was recorded by Jan Breytenbach over Krugersdorp but residents of Welkom, Free State and Vanderbijlpark in Gauteng also reported seeing the event.

"Clear as a daylight! It was a once in a lifetime sight," an eyewitness from Vanderbijlpark said.

Video courtesy Jan Breytenbach

A similar meteor, although it seems it lasted much longer, was recorded streaking across the early morning sky over Roodepoort, a city in the Greater Johannesburg area, Gauteng Province on June 15, 2017.

The object was recorded about 04:00 UTC (06:00 SAST) on the road from Golf Club Terrace into Constantia Drive.

Video courtesy Brett Odendaal

Featured image: Bright fireball over Krugersdorp, South Africa on August 22, 2017. Credit: Jan Breytenbach

Comments

No comments yet. Why don't you post the first comment?

Post a comment

Your name: *

Your email address: *

Comment text: *

The image that appears on your comment is your Gravatar